Padma Awards 2019: President Ram Nath Kovind confers the awards; check full list of recipients

Padma Awards 2019: Musician Shankar Mahadevan, dancer and producer Prabhu Deva received the Padma Shri, while the Padma Bhushan was conferred on journalist Kuldip Nayar, and actor Mohanlal among others.This year’s Padma awards took place at the Rashtrapati Bhavan, New Delhi on Monday.

As many as 112 “inspiring” personalities were selected for this year’s Padma awards and their names were announced on the eve of Republic Day this year. The remaining awardees are likely to be conferred the honour at another function to be held on March 16, a Home Ministry official said.

Some of the recipients of the Padma Shri this year include former foreign secretary S Jaishankar, musician Shankar Mahadevan Narayan, physicians Sandeep Guleria and Ilias Ali, dancer, actor and producer Prabhu Deva and wrestler Bajrang Punia.

Shankar Mahadevan Narayan presented with the Padma Shri for Art. A prominent singer and music composer, Mahadevan has been performing the world.

President Kovind presents Padma Shri to Prabhu Deva for Art. A choreographer, film director, producer and actor, he has worked in Tamil, Telugu, Hindi, Malayalam and Kannada films. In a career spanning 25 years, he has performed and designed a wide range of dancing styles

President Kovind hands over the Padma Shri to wrestler Bajrang Punia. He has been representing India in the 65Kg category. He is recognised for his achievements in the Commonwealth Games and Asian games.

Dr S Jaishankar is conferred the Padma Shri for civil service. A retired officer of the IFS and

former foreign secretary, Dr Jaishankar is widely regarded for his contributions to Indian diplomacy and leading role in restructuring India’s global conversations.

Actor Mohanlal receives the Padma Bhushan from President Ram Nath Kovind. The actor, from Kerala, has acted in about 350 films, in a career spanning 40 years.

Sharath Kamal Achanta receives the Padma Shri from President Kovind for his contribution to the field of Sports. A renowned name in table tennis, he has won over 60 international medals in the past 16 years.

President Kovind presents Padma Bhushan to Shri Kuldip Nayar (Posthumous) for Literature & Education (Journalism). He was a long-time editor, popular columnist and civil liberties activist.

Karia Munda is presented with the Padma Bhushan for his work in Public Affairs. The veteran politician and the former Deputy Speaker of the Lok Sabha, he is popular public figure in Jharkhand.

John T Chambers gets the Padma Bhushan from President Kovind for Trade and Industry. Founder of JC2 Ventures, Chambers has served as CEO of Cisco and as Chairman of the US-India Strategic Partnership forum.

Sukhdev Singh Dhindsa is conferred with the Padma Bhushan from President Kovind for his work in Public Affairs.

Harika Dronavalli gets the Padma Shri for Sports. She is among the world’s top ranked chess players and has lead Indian women squads to several chess championships.

Prof Sandeep Guleria receives the Padma Shri for his contribution to Medicine. He is a transplant surgeon at the Indraprastha Apollo Hospital, New Delhi, and leads one of the busiest renal transplant programmes in the world.